Rich Media Tutorial

Our focus this week was on rich media tutorials. I’ve been a fan of Articulate Storyline for creating rich media tutorials for several years, and I’m always excited about opportunities to use it. Note: the current edition is Storyline 360, but I used the previous version, Storyline 2 for this tutorial. This particular tutorial uses only a tiny fraction of Storyline’s amazing capabilities. In my opinion, Storyline’s functionality is only limited by the designer’s imagination and  ability to come up with the logic to make the software do what she wants it to do.

For this assignment, I used Storyline to make a tutorial about using H5P software, which I learned about from another EDTECH 522 student last week. I’m definitely a novice H5P user–what I know about the software is what I learned to prepare for this tutorial–but it seems to be a great free alternative to Storyline, which comes with a hefty price tag, even for educators.

The beauty of both of these tools is that they allow authors to create highly interactive tutorials and activities, which can be used to enhance teaching and learning in online courses or scenarios with adult students.

I won’t deny that there are drawbacks, however. In addition to Storyline’s price, one must either have access to an LMS or to server space. I use a free Amazon S3 account (free because I don’t have a lot of content or a lot of people using my content) for server space, in conjunction with a free Cloudberry Explorer account for uploading to AS3. Storyline also doesn’t build in accessibility; I didn’t have time in the initial iteration of this tutorial to manually create closed captions, which also requires the creation of triggers and variables, and more. Instead, I created a transcript in PDF form, which learners can download from the “Resources” button at the top of the tutorial window. Not ideal, and it doesn’t align with multimedia principles, but I will add captions as time permits.

H5P’s functionality is maximized when it’s used in conjunction with a WordPress, Moodle, or Drupal plugin. However to make it most useful to my intended audience, my colleagues in the library at the university where I work, I focused on interactions that don’t require plugins and that can be directly embedded into a product used widely by academic librarians called LibGuides.

In summary, I used the following tools to create this tutorial:

  • Storyline 2 to create the tutorial, including the video on the first slide, and audio on all slides
  • Jing to create screen shots
  • AS3 for server space
  • Cloudberry Explorer for transfer and a URL
  • H5P to create the interaction the tutorial describes

You can access the tutorial by clicking the image below, or by visiting http://edtech522.s3.amazonaws.com/richmediatutorial/story.html

tutorial

This entry was posted in 4.1 Collaborative Practice, 4.3 Reflection on Practice, 522, AECT Standard 4: Professional Knowledge and Skills, Course Number and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

