Project #6: Digital Story

For this assignment, I created a digital story using iPad app Explain Everything, an app I had never used prior to the assignment. The app was ideal for creating a digital story because it allowed me to upload images from my computer or pull them from other applications I use, such as Google Drive and Dropbox. I was able to add and manipulate text, move items on the screen, add voice narration, and upload directly to my YouTube account. The app integrates with many other applications, and allows for in-app editing of images and audio, making it extremely easy and convenient to use.

Incidentally, I used Explain Everything to create a short video for work as well. For the work project, I needed to create a screen shot, which I made using the app, and then create an animation of a pen circling some text on the screen. It turned out exactly as I’d hoped. This seems like a versatile tool that I would consider using for teaching and learning in the future.

My digital story is a personal story about a lesson I learned pertaining to my favorite hobby, hiking with my dogs. It demonstrates the personalization principle in its conversational style; I use first person throughout, and–I hope–a friendly voice. I wanted listeners to feel like I was actually telling them the story of what happened. I opted to use still images rather than including an avatar or other online agent, as I wanted the story to seem authentic. Most of the images used are from the actual hike I describe in the story, or from other hikes with my dogs. The most difficult thing about creating the digital story was paring it down, as suggested in Adobe Systems Inc.’s (2008) “Digital Storytelling” guide. It was challenging to tell the story in a way that was detailed enough, but without giving too much superfluous information. I used more words than suggested, but I struggled to remove any more of the story without taking away meaning.

I hope you enjoy my digital story.

This entry was posted in 1.2 Using, 3.1 Creating, 3.2 Using, 513, AECT Standard 1: Content Knowledge, AECT Standard 3: Learning Environments and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

